Login | Contact

An important and continuing goal of AKMG ever since it's inception in the 1980's is to improve health care in Kerala through bettering medical education at all levels. AKMG has provided financial support of half a million dollars to establish 4 Learning Resources Centers at medical colleges in Kerala

In October 2013, at the AKMG convention in Houston, a landmark Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between AKMG and Kerala University of Health Sciences (KUHS) to explore, collaborate and develop a partnership that leads to improved education, training and research in health sciences in Kerala was signed by the President (Dr. Freemu Varghese), AKMG and the Vice-Chancellor (Dr. K. Mohandas), KUHS. This partnership does not entail any financial commitment or encumbrance to either party.

Following up on the MoU, the current president of AKMG, Dr. Parameswaran Hari appointed a Kerala Educational Initiative Committee (KEIC) to formulate plans and to collaborate with KUHS. The members of AKMG- KEIC are: Dr. C.S. Pitchumoni (Chair), Dr. Basil Varkey (Vice-Chair), Dr. T.S. Dharmarajan (Vice-Chair, Programs and Projects), Dr. Easwaran Variyam (Vice-Chair, Research), Dr. Enas Enas (Vice-Chair, Co-ordination and Liaison), Dr. Paul Cherian and Dr. Jame Abraham. AKMG leaders Drs. P. Hari, F. Varghese, Alex Thomas, Sunil Kumar and Majeed Paduvana will serve as ex-officio members. The KEIC after several meetings and extensive discussions prepared a list of domains and teaching methods for a spectrum of learners- medical students, physicians in training and faculty- in all the medical colleges under KUHS.

In November 2013, a Joint Coordination Committee consisting of 6 members of KEIC and 6 members of KUHS discussed several domains that included undergraduate curriculum, residency training, visiting faculty program (VFP), web-based learning, clinical and research mentoring, research collaboration, emergency medicine, geriatric medicine, nutrition, palliative care, communication, medical ethics and professionalism and performance improvement and chose 4 priority areas- VFP, web-based learning, clinical and research mentoring and research collaboration- for implementation.

In January 2014, the inaugural VFP took place at the Trivandrum Medical College with the Vice-Chancellor and Dean in attendance. The Visiting Faculty Program Calendar Section lists the programs that have taken place and will be updated semi-annually.

2. Visiting Faculty Requirements:
Academic rank of Professor or Associate Professor. Senior Assistant Professor (3 years or more in rank) with demonstrated scholarly record (e.g. teaching awards, peer-reviewed journal publications) may also be considered. Individuals, who may not have an active academic rank, but have an exceptional track record of research and a substantial number of publications in peer-reviewed journals could also be considered for inclusion as visiting faculty.
Time commitment to prepare and teach in area(s) of expertise. Willingness to travel to Kerala at one's own expense to give lectures is very desirable but not mandatory as some teaching can be web-based.
Willingness and ability to use the platform for web-based teaching in one's own computer and to get basic training in using this modality.
Commitment to respond by e-mail promptly (within 48 hours) to any communication or inquiry from the KEI liaison and to engage in continuing communication as to topic, date, time, site of lecture or course. (This is a requirement as a long lead time is often needed to finalize the program in Kerala.)
Commitment to provide feed back on experience and suggestions for continuous quality improvement.

3. Faculty Application Forms:
There are 2 parts to the application forms that complement each other. Below are helpful guidelines to complete them:
1. Introduction is a brief descriptive curriculum vitae. For uniformity please note the following:
Single page; less than 500 words; use Arial font, size 11.
State only your name in bold; leave out degrees
Provide the relevant information in paragraphs. Consistent with the objective of this initiative, list teaching highlights in a single paragraph. (Example available on request)
2. Expertise is self-explanatory. In addition to broad areas be as specific as possible pertinent to foci of interests and topics for lectures and courses. (Example available on request)

Note: Please direct questions on VFP to Dr. Enas Enas (Vice-Chair, Co-ordination and Liaison). cadiusa.org@gmail.com